In November of 2020, Oregon passed Measure 110, making it the first state in the U.S. to decriminalize drug use for personal possession. This means that controlled substances such as heroin, cocaine, MDMA, and LSD will not lead to criminal charges or penalties if individuals possess less than a certain amount for personal use.
The Legalities of Measure 110
Essentially if you are in possession of a small amount of controlled substances and there is no evidence that you are attempting to deliver them, then you may be fined $100. If you cannot afford the $100, then you could avoid paying the fine by participating in a health assessment. Measure 110 applies to those cases where the amount of controlled substances is less than 1 gram of heroin, less than 40 units of LSD, less than 1 gram or 5 MDMA pills, and less than 2 grams of cocaine. While Oregon is the most liberal state when it comes to drug offenses, that does not mean it is legal to sell drugs.
Is Delivering Controlled Substances Illegal Under Measure 110?
Selling or transferring controlled substances is still illegal under Measure 110.
If you are in possession of controlled substances in excess of the amounts listed above, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or felony and be required to complete probation, serve jail time, pay a fine, or other consequences. However, with a criminal defense lawyer on their side, they may be able to get their charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Contacting Pendleton Law For Legal Assistance
If you have been contacted about or are being investigated for delivering controlled substances in Oregon and now need representation, contact Pendleton Law, LLC at (541) 226-3613. We are sympathetic with our clients and take an aggressive approach on their behalf. If you live in Umatilla County or surrounding areas, get in touch today for assistance.