You were out driving when suddenly, a police officer pulled you over because the officer thought you were intoxicated. Now, you are facing DUII charges for the first time and are unsure about what is going to happen next.
Here’s some information on first-time DUIIs in Oregon and what it potentially means for your future.
DUIIs in the State of Oregon
Oregon refers to Driving Under the Influence offenses (DUIIs) as “Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants”. If you drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08 percent or more, or while you are under the influence of controlled substances, marijuana, alcohol, or a combination of any at the same time, then you could be convicted of DUII.
Penalties for DUIIs
If you are arrested for a DUII, and you undergo chemical testing that shows a BAC level of .08 percent or more, then your license could be suspended for 90 days. If you have been arrested and refused to do a chemical test, your license could be suspended for one year. If you are convicted, your license will be suspended for one year. You will need to have an ignition interlock device installed in your car for one year during your suspension and attend a substance abuse treatment program.
In terms of criminal consequences, if convicted, you will either be sentenced to 48 hours to one year in jail or 80 to 250 hours of community service. The minimum fine will likely be $1,000. If your BAC level was at .15 percent or more, then your fine will be at least $2,000. In addition to fines, you will be placed on probation, ordered to attend an alcohol or drug treatment program, and required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
Contact Pendleton Law for Help With a DUII Charge
If you have been charged with a first-time DUII in Oregon, contact Pendleton Law, LLC at 541-201-8626. We will put our decades of combined experience to work to provide you with exceptional and aggressive legal representation.